It’s hard in the month of February not to see signs of love everywhere. From adults to children, people are giving hearts in a symbol of their love. The idea of giving your heart to someone doesn’t have much in the way of age restrictions.

My four year old son the other day at school asked a girl if she was his valentine. To this the little girl replied that she had asked her mom and it was okay. Well, one of my son’s teachers heard this and said to him “I thought I was your valentine?”, my son just grinned and the little girl was not to happy.

Valentines day to me takes on a little different story though, It’s the day I broke the woman I  loves heart. A lot was going on back then for me. I had been hurt so many times and I was afraid it was going to happen to me first. So I broke things off, I know what your thinking. When I think about this now, I think the same thing. Jerk is one word that comes to mind.

Well, thank God that woman is now my wife. Now, I get to spend the rest of our lives celebrating valentines day together. Truth is I have a lot to thank God for. But, since I’m talking about love I’ll stay right there. Before I made Jesus my Lord and saviour I don’t think I really knew what love meant.

I know that sounds hard to believe but it’s true. It’s also true that before I met God I didn’t know how to love. Maybe I didn’t get held enough, I really don’t know why to tell you the truth. Looking back I think the reason was I didn’t much like myself or love myself, so how could I expect anyone to love me. What ever the case it, it all changed when I met God.

The idea that someone could love me in-spite of myself was beyond me. But there it was in black and white. John 3:16 For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.. He loved me enough to send his son to pay my debt and set me free.

Now I can love and be loved. 1 John 4:19 We love because he first loved us. I’ll end with this, If your looking for a love that will last forever why not look to the one who created eternity.

Leave a Reply

